Alice in Blunderland

Alice in Blunderland

(Part of Alice)
For Ages: 7 - 12
  • 1award
Here are all the embarrassing things that might happen to you in the fourth grade -- and do happen to you, if your name is Alice McKinley:

1. Your next-door neighbor (who happens to be a BOY!) sees you in your underpants.

2. You sneeze beans all over your best friend.

3. Your brother lies to you for fun and you believe him.

4. You get trapped inside a snow cave -- your own snow cave, that is.

5. You're the only person in the whole grade who can't sing.

Alice can't seem to do anything right anymore, especially where her big brother Lester is concerned. When he gets really angry with her, Alice doesn't know how to fix things between them. How is she going to get Lester to talk to her again? And will life ever get any easier? Fourth grade can't end soon enough!

The second of three prequels to the beloved Alice series, Alice in Blunderland lets younger readers get to know the girl everyone wants to be friends with, and proves once again that Phyllis Reynolds Naylor knows the fears, foibles, and fun of being a girl.
Choose a format:
  • Atheneum Books for Young Readers | 
  • 240 pages | 
  • ISBN 9781442446441 | 
  • September 2012 | 
  • Grades 2 - 7
Add to Cart
List Price $5.99
Available for immediate download

Read an Excerpt

Chapter 1:

Being Perfect

Lester lies to me sometimes, only he says it's just teasing. Then I go and believe him.

We were talking about names once, and he said he'd let me in on a secret if I didn't tell Dad. He said that we weren't Scotch-Irish at all, that our grandparents had escaped from Russia, but we didn't want anyone to know it.

My real name, he said, wasn't Alice Kathleen McKinley; it was Alicia Katerina de Balencia Blunderbuss Makinoli.

"Honest?" I said.

"Cross my heart," said Lester.

"Write it down," I told him. So Lester wrote it down for me.

I whispered my real name over and over so I... see more

About the Author

Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
Photo Copyright: Gilbert

Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

Phyllis Reynolds Naylor has written more than 135 books, including the Newbery Award–winning Shiloh and the Alice series. She lives in Gaithersburg, Maryland. To hear from Phyllis and find out more about Alice, visit




Get a FREE eBook
when you join our mailing list!