Happenstance Found

Happenstance Found

(Book #1 of The Books of Umber)
For Ages: 8 - 12
Master storyteller P.W. Catanese begins the Books of Umber trilogy with Happenstance Found—now available in paperback—when twelve-yearold Happenstance awakens in a cave with no memory of who he is or how he came to be there. Lord Umber and his companions rescue Hap, and the group sets out on dangerous and unusual missions that continue in Dragon Games.

Hap’s and Umber’s journeys take them to the corrupt kingdom of Sarnica, where Umber’s nemesis has acquired some dragon eggs. Umber wants to study a new magical species, but what starts as a quest for knowledge turns into a dangerous rescue operation. The deft plotting of these actionpacked, heart-stopping adventures will pique the imagination and leave readers anxious for the final installment.
Choose a format:
  • Aladdin | 
  • 368 pages | 
  • ISBN 9781416953821 | 
  • December 2009 | 
  • Grades 3 - 7 | 
  • Lexile NC700
Add to Cart
List Price $6.99
Usually ships within 1 business day

About the Author

P. W. Catanese
Photo Credit:

P. W. Catanese

P. W. (Paul William) Catanese was born in New York and grew up in Connecticut, where he lives with his wife and three children. When he's not writing books, he draws cartoons and works for an advertising agency.
Interestingly, the letters in "P. W. Catanese" can be rearranged to spell "want escape?" Paul figures that's why people read books like his.


Author Revealed

P. W. Catanese
Q. how did you come to write Happenstance Found?

A. Sometimes ideas come from other ideas. When I was writing my second fantasy-adventure novel, The Brave Apprentice, I dropped a name into one scene for a character you never met: A fellow named Umber who kept histories of monstrous creatures. That planted the seed for the book I would start years later, about an exuberant explorer and inventor named Umber who is one of the two heroes of the new "Books of Umber: Happenstance Found."

Read More



Get a FREE eBook
when you join our mailing list!