The Unexpected Waltz

The Unexpected Waltz

From the author of the critically acclaimed debut Love in Mid Air comes this moving novel about a middle-aged widow who finds her feet by embracing a new hobby: ballroom dancing.

Kelly Wilder becomes recently widowed from a much older wealthy man with whom she spent her married life doing charity work, building a lovely home, and, as she says, “pretending to be a whole lot more conservative and stupid and nicer than I really am.”

Now, with too much time and money on her hands, Kelly has absolutely no idea what happens next. So on a whim she signs up for a ballroom dancing class, and slowly, step by high-heeled step, begins to rebuild her life with the help of friends old and new: Nik, a young Russian dance teacher who sees the artistic potential she left behind; Carolina, a woman in hospice, anxious to experience a whole lifetime in a few months; and Elyse, Kelly’s girlhood best friend who knows all of her past secrets—including the truth about the man who long ago broke Kelly’s heart.

In the vein of Jennifer Weiner's novels, Unexpected Waltz is a deeply felt story about moving on after loss and finding a new walk—or dance—of life through the power of second chances.
  • Gallery Books | 
  • 288 pages | 
  • ISBN 9781476754222 | 
  • June 2014

Reading Group Guide

This reading group guide for The Canterbury Sisters includes an introduction, discussion questions, and ideas for enhancing your book club. The suggested questions are intended to help your reading group find new and interesting angles and topics for your discussion. We hope that these ideas will enrich your conversation and increase your enjoyment of the book.

Introduction

From the critically acclaimed author of Love in Mid Air and The Unexpected Waltz, The Canterbury Sisters is a warm, compulsively readable novel about how one woman’s mission to grant her mother’s last wishes ends up saving her own.

Che de Milan’s life is a mess. Her longtime boyfriend has just announced—in a letter—that he is leaving her for another woman and her eccentric mother has recently passed. When her mother’s ashes show up on her doorstep with a set of instructions that require a trip to Canterbury Cathedral, Che reluctantly packs her bags and embarks upon a pilgrimage. The eight women in the touring group swap stories along the length of the Canterbury Trail in the best Chaucer tradition, vying to see who among them can describe true love. Armed with wine, ashes, camaraderie, and the magic of Canterbury itself, these unlikely pilgrims help Che find the sense of peace and hope that has always eluded her.

Questions and Topics for Discussion

1. In the opening pages see more

Articles About This Book

More Books from this Author

The Canterbury Sisters

About the Author

Kim Wright
Photograph by Alan Jenkins

Kim Wright

Kim Wright is the author of Love in Mid Air and The Unexpected Waltz and has been writing about travel, food, and wine for more than twenty years for many magazines, including Wine Spectator, Self, Travel & Leisure, and Vogue. She has twice won the Lowell Thomas Award for travel writing. The Canterbury Sisters is her third novel, and she also ballroom dances competitively. Kim lives in Charlotte, North Carolina.

BECOME A FAN

Explore

CONNECT WITH US